South African Music Awards: The First Winners

The 18th annual MTN South African Music Awards awards started last night, with the main ceremony taking place tonight. Last night focused on technical excellence and sales, while tonight is focused on the awards that we’re all kind of interested in. That said, we wouldn’t have the music we do without those behind the scenes so here is the list of winners.

We will say this: Parlotones winning best video? Really?

Lifetime Achievement Awards: Ray Phiri and Vusi Mahlasela.
Best Engineer: Loliwe by Zahara.
Best Video: Ryan Peimer for It’s Magic by The Parlotones.
Best Producer: Dan Roberts for Six Winters by Laurie Levin
Remix of  the Year: DJ Sbu for Lengoma, feat Zahara.
Best Live DVD: An Evening with Simphiwe Dana by Simphiwe Dana
Most Played Song on South African Radio: Alone by Liquideep



Best-Selling Full Track Download of the Year: Loliwe by Zahara (32 441 downloads).
Best-Selling True-Tone Download of the Year: Facebook by DJ Cleo (3 520 downloads).
Best-Selling Ring-Back Tone of the Year: Facebook by DJ Cleo (252 184 downloads).

Main Award Ceremony is Tonight

Jack Parow's Eksie Ou is up for Best Street Urban

Tonight sees the main ceremony, with your normal genre-based type of awards, airing live on SABC 1 from 20h30. Here are our thoughts on tonight:

We’re hoping Jack Parow takes Best Street Urban, Goodluck for Best Dance. Now for the categories that matter, we’ll show you the full list of nominees:

Best Rock: 
aKING – The Red Blooded Years
Shadowclub – Guns And Money
Taxi Violence – Unplugged: Long Way From Home
The Graeme Watkins Project – Corridors Of The Mind
Van Coke Kartel – Wies Bang

Best Alternative: 
Ashtray Electric – Measured In Falls
Dear Reader – Idealistic Animals
Die Heuwels Fantasties – Wilder As Die Wildtuin
The Dirty Skirts – Lost In The Fall
Wrestlerish – Towns

Look at that rock category! I mean, The GWP does stick out like a sore thumb, but how do you call it between the other four?

Van Coke’s new album is a wall of rock riffs and passionate vocals, that’s arguably, a modern-day commentary on South Africa; The Red Blooded Years is yet another tight, structured offering from aKing… structured, but with contagious abandonment and a sense that all inhibitions have been lost. Amazing.

The epic Taxi Violence needs no introduction, while the ‘new on the scene’ (term used very, very loosely) Shadowclub have forced their introduction on a helpless population that needed to be woken up.

Ashtray Electric

Best Alternative is laid out with amazing artists, but really, we think only Ashtray Electric or DHF deserves to take it home.

And yes, we do think Gangs of Ballet will be featured at SAMA 19 or SAMA 20. Yes, we do.

What do you guys think? Who should get it in those two categories?

Check out the songs that got Liquideep and The Parlotones their awards, as well as some that might make winners tonight:

[WINNER] Most Played Song on South African Radio: Alone by Liquideep

[WINNER] Best Video: Ryan Peimer for It’s Magic by The Parlotones.

[NOMINATED] Best Rock: Van Coke Kartel – Wie’s Bang

[NOMINATED] Best Rock: aKing – The Red Blooded Years

[NOMINATED] Best Alternative: Ashtray Electric – Measured In Falls

[NOMINATED] Best Alternative: Die Heuwels Fantasties – Wilder As Die Wildtuin